Oyo State House of Assembly yesterday announced the names of the 14 Commissioner- nominees forwarded to it by Governor Abiola Ajimobi. Also read was a list of eight members to constitute the State Independent Electoral Commission, OYSIEC.

The names of the nominees, which were announced during a plenary session of the House by the Speaker, Michael Adyemo , was received on May 26, with reference number Gov/2016/05/120, with the caption: ‘Nomination of Commissioners into the state Executive Council.’ The names of the commissioners include the son of Soun of Ogbomoso, Mr. Oyewole Oyewumi; daughter of the Alaafin of Oyo, Taibat Adaba, and former Deputy Chief of Staff, Abimbola Adekanbi.AJ

Others are former commissioners Atinuke Oshinkoya, Abimbola Kolade, Ajiboye Omodewu and Wasiu Dauda. Making the list also were Mr Abayomi Oke, Isaac Ishola, Abdul-Ganiyu Mudashiru, Toye Arulogun, Oluwaseun Abimbola, a former council boss, Prof. Niyi Olowofela, a former governorship aspirant, Dr. Azeez Adeduntan and Fatai Salawu. The names of eight members to constitute OYSIEC are Adewole Ajeigbe (chairman), Sunday Aborisade, Adedeji Raimi, David Adeagbo, Bello Lateef, Omolola Odekunbi, Abdulrazaq Akuru and Rasheed Oyekanmi.

The Speaker, while directing all the nominees to submit 40 copies each of their curriculum vitae to the Clerk, on or before June 3, said they will be screened next week. Special Adviser to the Governor on Communication and Strategy, Mr. Yomi Layinka, in his reaction, said the nominees were carefully selected after due consultations with stakeholders and party members. He stated that when the governor inaugurated the caretaker committee chairmen, he promised to constitute the OYSIEC, a critical step towards conducting local government elections in the state. He said OYSIEC members cut across all religions and professions, adding that they are uncontroversial people of impeccable character

Related posts