The federal government through the Police Service Commission, Friday, retired 21 Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIGs), all of whom are seniors to the Acting Inspector General of Police.

A statement signed by Ikechukwu Ani confirmed that the 21 Assistant Inspectors General of Police were seniors to the new acting Inspector General of Police, Idris Ibrahim, before his appointment.

Vanguard had days ago reported exclusively that 20 Assistant Inspectors General of Police may be retired following approval given by President Muhammadu Buhari for a clean up to the top echelon of the force to pave way for a new order in the force that will lead tp appointment of DIGs that are juniors to the IGP.

According to the statement, the affected AIGs are Bala A Hassan, AIG Zone 2, Yahaya Garba Ardo, Irmiya F Yarima, AIG Zone 9, Danladi Y Mshebwala, Tambari Y. Mohammed, AIG Zone 10 and Bala Magaji Nasarawa, AIG Zone 7, Abuja.

Others are Musa Abdulsalam, Adisa Bolanta, AIG Zone 6, Mohammed J Gana, Umaru Abubakar, Manko former AIG Zone 2, Lagos, Lawal Tanko, AIG Zone 8 and Olufemi A. Adenaike, AIG in charge Training.

Also retired are AIG Johnson A Ogunsakin, Adenrele T. Shinaba, Commandant Police College Kano, James O. Caulcrick, Olufefemi David Ogumbayode, Edgar T Nanakumo, AIG in charge Works, Kalafite H. Adeyemi, Patrick D Dokumor, Mbu Joseph Mbu and AIG Sabo Ibrahim Ringim.

Chairman of the Commission, Dr. Mike Mbama Okiro congratulated the affected officers for their meritorious service to the nation and wished them well in their new endeavours.

Related posts