The two states with existing vacancies are Zamfara and Kogi.

Yemi-Esan had reiterated that only officers in the mainstream of the federal civil service who attained the substantive rank of director on Salary Grade Level 17 on or before January 1, 2018 and who have updated their records on the Integrated Personnel and Payroll Information System verification portal are eligible to sit for the examinations.

She added that to be eligible, such officials must hail from Abia, Adamawa, Anambra, Cross River, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Oyo, Rivers, Sokoto, Yobe and Zamfara States and should not be retiring from service earlier than on December 31, 2021.

She wrote, “Accordingly, the following officers shall not be accredited: directors that did not update their online records on the IPPIS verification portal (from April 5, 2017 up until it closed on May 23, 2018).

“Those that shall not be accredited also include serving directors retiring earlier than or on December 31, 2021; serving directors promoted in the last one year (2019); and directors undergoing disciplinary procedure.”

The last time permanent secretaries were appointed was in December 2019 when the Federal Government approved the appointment of nine new permanent secretaries.

Those appointed then were Musa Hassan from Borno State; Ahmed Aliyu from Niger State; Olushola Idowu from Ogun State; Andrew Adejoh representing the North–Central zone; Umar Tijjani  representing the North–East zone; Nasir Gwarzo from the North–West zone; Nebeolisa Anako representing the South–East zone; Fashedemi Peter representing the South–West zone; and Evelyn Ngige from the South–South zone of Nigeria.

The nine permanent secretaries were picked from the 48 directors who participated in the final stage of the selection process.

The 48 senior officials had earlier emerged successful among the 87 candidates who sat for the second set of examination for applicants.

Copyright PUNCH.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.