The All Progressives Congress (APC) may have set in motion the disqualification of Governor Godwin Obaseki from the governorship primary scheduled for 22 June.

On Friday, the party announced its plans to display next Monday and Tuesday the certificates of the six aspirants.

The certificates will be displayed at the party offices in Benin and Abuja for objection and verification by party members.

Of all the six aspirants for the party’s ticket, Obaseki already has a case in court accusing him of certificate forgery and also the offence of perjury.

But the APC in a statement by National Publicity secretary, Lanre Issa-Onilu, did not betray any plan to set a Banana Peel for the governor.

The party said it was embarking on the display to avoid the lapses of the past, that cost it, notably, the Bayelsa governorship.

‘In our bid to ensure due diligence and transparency in the screening exercise and learning from our recent shocking experiences, we are determined to avoid any lapses in the process”, Lanre Issa-Onilu said.

“Therefore, we are making the submitted information and documents of the governorship aspirants available to our party members and the public for verification of claims and to support the screening panel with information or any objection to the claims contained in the submission by the aspirants,”

Six Governorship aspirants will be screened for the 22 June Primary Election.

They are Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, Governor Godwin Obaseki, Dr. Pius Odubu, Engr. Chris Ogiemwonyi, Osaro Obazee and Matthew Aigbuhuenze Iduoriyekemwen.

“We are inviting party members and indeed members of the public to assist the screening committee by scrutinising the information, credentials and documents provided by the governorship aspirants and availing the Screening Committee of counter and correct information, if applicable”, Issa-Onilu said.

“Screening of aspirants has been slated for Wednesday 10th to Thursday 11th June, 2020.

“This will be followed by Screening Appeal which will hold on Friday 12th June, 2020.

“The Primary Election will hold on Monday 22nd June, 2020, while Election Appeal has been slated for Wednesday 24th June, 2020”, the party said.