The number of Senior Advocates of Nigeria increased on Monday to 451 with the conferment of the prestigious title on 22 outstanding lawyers.

The new SANs were inaugurated by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Mahmud Mohammed, at a special session of the Supreme Court in Abuja to mark the commencement of the 2016-2017 legal year.

The new SANs included Olaseni Adio, son of a former Chief Judge of Oyo State, Yekini Adio, and the Director-General of the Nigerian Law School, Olanrewaju Onadeko.While 131 lawyers applied for the rank this year, 55 including four women, were shortlisted for interview out of which 22 emerged victorious.

Out of the 22 new SANs, 19 came from the advocate category while three were from the academics.

Only two women made it this year.

Other beneficiaries were Abdulhakeem Uthman Mustapha, lawyer to the Governor of Kaduna State, Nasir el-Rufai; Nnamonso Udo Ekanem; Prof. Muhammed Tabiu; Secretary of the 2014 National Conference, Dr. Valerie-Janette Ogonna Azinge and Olufunke Abimbola Agbor.

Also named were Olusola Ojutalayo; Richard Akintunde; Oyesoji Oyeleke; James Njeze Ikeyi; Yakubu Kurah; Adewunmi Ogunsanya; Olatubosun Olanipekun; Kalu Umeh and Adewale Adesokan.

Others are Fredson Alexander Okoli; Olasheni Ibiwoye; Abdulhakeem Mustapha; Mba Ekpezu; Edward Pwajok and Prof. Chukwu Omaka.

Copyright PUNCH

Related posts