Benue State House of Assembly, yesterday, approved Governor Samuel Ortom’s request to suspend 6 chairmen, chairmen of local government councils, all belonging to the All Progressives Congress (APC), for three months over “gross misconduct, misappropriation of funds and abuse of office.”
Those affected are Mr. Austin Okwoche, Chairman of Oju Local Government; Mrs Juliana Audu, Makurdi; Terdoo Kenti, Kwande, Francis Ogwuche of Okpokwu; Mrs. Beckie Orpin, Gboko and Mrs Comfort Echoda, Agatu.

Ortom’s correspondence to the House was sequel to petitions from councillors of the affected councils.

According to the correspondence read to members by the Speaker, Mr. Titus Uba, “the request for their suspension was based on the advice of the state Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Michael Gusa, that the action was necessary to enable investigation into the allegations against the affected chairmen and vice chairmen.”

He also stated that the correspondence was in compliance with provisions of Benue State Local Government Law.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.