President Muhammadu Buhari has administered the oath of office on his Economic Adviser, Dr. Adeyemi Dipeolu. The ceremony took place during the meeting of the Federal Executive Council, FEC on Wednesday at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa, Abuja. The president who presided over the meeting also inaugurated othet four special advisers and one permanent secretary. Those inaugurated included the Special Adviser on Social Investment,
Mrs. Maryam Uwais; Special Adviser on Political Matter, Senator Babafemi Ojudu; Special Adviser on Planning, Tijani Abdullahi; and the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Rafiu Enikanolaye. While Uwais, Ojudu and Dipeolu were deployed to the Office of the Vice President, Abdullahi was deployed in the Ministry of Budget and National Planning.

Dr. Adeyemi Dipeolu is a seasoned, career diplomat and an international civil servant. He is currently the Director of the Capacity Development Division of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA). Prior to being appointed to his current position, Dr. Dipeolu served as the Chief-of-Staff of UNECA. He was previously the Coordinator of the African Trade Policy Centre at the UNECA.

Dr. Dipeolu joined the United Nations system in 2005, following an illustrious career in the Nigerian Foreign Service, where he started as a Third Secretary in 1980 and rose to the rank of Ambassador. In the course of his work in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs specializing in African affairs and international economic cooperation, Dr. Dipeolu also served in the Nigerian Presidency, the Permanent Mission of Nigeria to the United Nations in Geneva, and in the Nigerian diplomatic missions in Pretoria, South Africa; Addis Ababa; Ethiopia, and Caracas, Venezuela.

An avid reader of scholarly journals, his interests include sustainable African economic development, South-South cooperation, and international diplomacy. Dr. Dipeolu is passionate about education and sits on the Boards of a number of universities.

Dr. Dipeolu was educated at the Universities of South Africa, Cambridge, Oxford, and Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University).


Related posts