President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has inaugurated the National Economic Council (NEC), headed by Vice President, Kashim Shettima.

The NEC, the first in the series, comes a week after Tinubu directed it to meet to come up with interventions to mitigate the effects of the petroleum subsidy removal.

The President had charged the council to come up with ideas that would boost his administration, especially in transforming the economic fortunes of the country.

He had noted that the task of growing the nation’s economy is quite enomous but there would be no excuse for failure.

He restated his administration’s commitment to delivering on its promises to Nigerians.

After the inauguration, the council is currently holding its meeting.

The NEC meets monthly and has the mandate to “advise the President concerning the economic affairs of the Federation, and in particular on measures necessary for the coordination of the economic planning efforts or economic programmes of the various Governments of the Federation.”

Membership of the NEC comprises of the 36 State Governors, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria and other co-opted government officials.

Those in attendance as at the time the meeting commenced are Kwara, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq; Osun, Ademola Adeleke; Kogi, Yahaya Bello; Ekiti, Biodun Oyebanji; Nasarawa, Abdullahi Sule; Akwa Ibom, Umo Eno; Enugu, Peter Mbah; Cross River, Bassey Otu; Plateau, Caleb Muftwang; Kebbi, Nasir Idris; Katsina, Aliyu Radda; and Benue, Hycinth Alia.

Others are Gombe, Inuwa Yahaya; Zamfara, Dauda Lawal; Ogun, Dapo Abiodun; Anambra, Charles Soludo; Yobe, Mai Mala Buni; Taraba, Agbu Kefas; Delta, Sheriff Oborevwori; Rivers, Siminalayi Fubara; Niger, Mohammed Bago; and Sokoto, Ahmad Aliyu.

Others are Ebonyi, Francis Nwifuru; Kaduna, Uba Sani; Edo, Godwin Obaseki; Abia, Alex Otti; Bayelsa, Douye Diri; Kano, Abba Yusuf; Bauchi, Bala Mohammed; Oyo, Seyi Makinde; and Borno State Deputy Governor, Umar Kadafur and Deputy Governor of Ondo, Lucky Ayedatiwa.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume; Chief of Staff, Femi Gbajabiamila; the Group Chief Executive Officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL), Mele Kyari; Acting Accountant-General of the Federation, Oluwatoyin Madein; Acting Governor of Central Bank, Folashodun Shonubi; Permanent Secretaries Budget and National Planning, Federal Capital Territory Administration, and State House.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.