Kamarudeen Ogundele

A prominent socio-cultural club in Ekiti, the Ekiti Eleven, has elected Mr. Kola Akosile to replace its 10-year chairman, Mr. Femi Ajiniran.

The club membership includes two former Ekiti State Governors — Segun Oni and Dr. Kayode Fayemi, who is now Minister of Mines and Steel Development—Senator Babfemi Ojudu, and a former member of the House of Representatives, Opeyemi Bamidele.

The four of them have already begun moves to contest for the 2018 Ekiti governorship election on the platform of the All Progressives Congress.

The ousted chairman, Ajiniran, recently issued a statement declaring the support of the group for Ojudu’s governorship ambition.

It was learnt that the statement irked some members of the group, who are staunch loyalists of Oni and Fayemi.

A source said the new election was conducted to elect new officers in order to save the club from collapse owing to the ambition of its members.

The election of new officers took place at an “extraordinary meeting” convened by the board of trustees of the club in Ado Ekiti.

Speaking to journalists in the state capital on Saturday, Akosile said his emergence was to move the group forward.

Others elected at the meeting were Mrs. Yetunde Fosudo (Vice Chairman), Seyi Aiyeleso (General Secretary), Mr. Tunde Dada (Social Secretary), Mr. Dele Morakinyo (Public Relations Officers) and Mr. Seyi Oluboba (Treasurer).

The club also inaugurated a Political Committee headed by a former Ekiti Deputy Speaker, Tunji Orisalade with Chief Yomi Aluko, Prince Diran Adeleke and Mrs Funke Owoseni as members.

Messrs Tunji Olatunde and Seyi Oluboba are in the economic committee while women empowerment committee is headed by Mrs. Funke Owoseni with Mrs. Yetunde Fosudo and Mrs Toyin Ajakaiye as members.

Copyright PUNCH.

Related posts