As more results come in, we have a complete list of Governors elected so far in the 2019 election which was held on Saturday, March 9th.

While some incumbent governors were handed a second term, there were some surprises in some states. Here is a list of Governors elected in 2019 election below;

Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi wins in Enugu State
Ugwuanyi wins all 17 LGAs in Enugu In Enugu, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, was handed a second term mandate after he won in all the 17 local councils of the state. Announcing the result at INEC office, Independent Layout Enugu, the state collation officers, Prof, Joseph Ahaneku disclosed that the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, candidate, Gov. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi polled 449,935 votes against his main challenger, Senator Ayogu Eze of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who got 10,423 votes.

2. David Umahi wins in Ebonyi State

Governor David Umahi won the election in all the 13 local government areas of Ebonyi State. Mr Umahi, the PDP governorship candidate, was way ahead of his closest challenger, Sonni Ogbuoji of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Prof Frank Chukwuemeka, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) State Collation Officer for Ebonyi governorship announced Umahi as winner on Sunday in Abakaliki. Chukwuemeka disclosed that Umahi polled a total of 393,043 votes to defeat his distant rival, Sen Sonni Ogbuoji of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 81,703 votes to emerge the winner.

3. Inuwa Yahaya wins in Gombe State

Inuwa Yahaya of the All Progressive Congress (APC) has been declared the winner of Gombe State gubernatorial election. The party polled a total of 364,179 votes to beat the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) which scored 222, 868 votes in Saturday’s poll.

4. Muhammad Badaru wins in Jigawa State

Governor of Jigawa State, Muhammad Badaru, was declared winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state. The returning officer, Azubike Nwankwo, announced that Muhammad Badaru polled 810, 933 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Aminu Ibrahim of the people’s Democratic Party, who got 288, 356 votes.

5. Okezie Ikpeazu wins in Abia State

Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of PDP was declared winner of Abia State governorship election. He polled 261,127 votes to defeat his closest rival, Dr. Uchechukwu Sampson Ogah of the APC, who polled 99,574 votes and Dr. Alex Otti of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, who got 64,366 votes.

6. Abubakar Bello wins in Niger State

The governor of Niger State, Abubakar Bello, was declared winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state. The returning officer and Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Lokoja, Angela Freeman, announced that Mr Bello polled 526,412 votes to defeat Mr Nasko who had 298,065 votes.

7. Seyi Makinde wins in Oyo State

Seyi Makinde has been declared winner of the Oyo State governorship election. The PDP candidate won 28 out of the 33 local governments in the state, leaving the All Progressives Congress with only five. He polled 515, 621 votes to defeat his closest rival from the APC, Bayo Adelabu, who polled 357, 982 votes.

8. Emmanuel Udom wins in Akwa Ibom State

The incumbent governor of Akwa Ibom State, Udom Emmanuel, has won re-election for a second term. He was announced the winner of the governorship election, at about 12:27 a.m. on Monday, in Uyo by the state returning officer, Faraday Orunmwense, a professor and vice chancellor of the University of Benin. Mr Emmanuel defeated his main opponent, Nsima Ekere of the All Progressives Congress (APC), with 519, 712 votes.

See more on


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.